Prince Philip Designers Prize shortlist (2011)

ADC staff
artdesigncafé - design | 27 September 2011

Fashion and Architecture dominate the shortlist of design geniuses for 2011 Prince Philip Designers Prize

Press release text by Design Council, UK

The shortlist for the 2011 Prince Philip Designers Prize is revealed today, and encompasses one of the widest ranges of design disciplines in the Prize’s history, from museums and galleries designers to millinery for Kylie Minogue, hydraulic ankles and illustrations for the Big Friendly Giant.

For the first time in a number of years, The 2011 Prize has a notable fashion flavour, with Sir Paul Smith and milliner Stephen Jones joining the line-up, whilst architecture is also well represented with internationally respected names such as Wilkinson Eyre and Sir David Chipperfield being nominated for their huge contribution, alongside giants of digital, sustainable and strategic design. Quentin Blake, one of Britain’s best-loved children’s illustrators and famed for the illustrations for the BFG and hundreds of other books, is also nominated.

The winner of the Prize, which recognises an outstanding contribution to UK business and society through design, will be announced at a ceremony at the Design Council on Tuesday 29th November.

The work of the nominees provides a snapshot of the creative and commercial strengths of the UK design industry. They can be viewed on the Design Council’s website [...]

The full list of nominees is:

Cecil Balmond, winner of the Gretna Landmark on the England-Scotland border, and co-designer of The Orbit for London’s 2012 Olympics, is hailed as one of the world’s greatest structural engineers and designers.

Quentin Blake CBE, RDI, FCSD, one of Britain’s best-loved illustrators. His work in more than 300 books— many his own— is instantly recognisable.

Tim Brown, the leading pioneer of “design thinking” and the CEO of global design and innovation firm IDEO.

Dinah Casson RDI, FRCA, FCSD, one of the world’s most respected environmental and exhibition designers.

Sir David Chipperfield, one of the UK’s best-known and most distinguished architects.

Stephen Jones one of the UK foremost millers, who has transformed millinery since first opening a salon in 1980, and who has trained other leading designers including Philip Treacy and Noel Stewart.

Sir Paul Smith is arguably the most successful British fashion designer ever. Since opening his first shop in Nottingham in 1970 he has built an international business that has defined the way three generations of men— and latterly women— have dressed.

Shane Walter, the co-founder of onedotzero, which since 1996 has been at the forefront of digital design and culture, reaching 5 cities around the world with a combination of festivals, public events and publishing projects, as well as an education programme for emerging talent.

Chris Wilkinson OBE and Jim Eyre OBE, co-founders of Wilkinson Eyre Architects, the first practice to win the Stirling Prize twice and the only one to win it two years in a row.

Saeed Zahedi, one of the leading designers of medical prosthetics. As Technical Director of Chas A Blatchford & Sons, he has been at the forefront of breakthroughs which have a huge impact on quality of life for many people including military personnel treated at the Defence Medical Rehabilitation Centre and the people of Haiti in the wake of the 2010 earthquake.


Former winners of the Prize include Bill Moggridge (2010) who designed the world’s first laptop, Thomas Heatherwick (2006); the architect Lord Foster of Thamesbank (2004); Habitat founder Sir Terence Conran (2003); Pentagram founder Kenneth Grange (2001) and inventor Sir James Dyson (1997).


The Prince Philip Designers Prize is Britain’s longest-running design award. For 52 years the Prince Philip Designers Prize has recognised and celebrated how designers improve daily life by solving problems and turning ideas into commercially successful reality. Winners and contenders have made their mark with everything from household products and compelling graphics to buildings and feats of engineering.

The Prince Philip Designers Prize, which was first awarded in 1959, is run by the Design Council. It is awarded annually to recognise a design career which has upheld the highest standards and broken new ground, while raising the status of design in business and the public sector and also contributing to design education. Nominees are put forward by professional organisations and educational establishments.